And we’re back!

It has been a long time.  A seriously long time.  Eons in fact.  But I have decided to come back to this blog.  I’m training as a journalist now and, if nothing else, this site will give me an opportunity to practice (ok publish what I can’t sell!)

So what have I been up to?  Well work, obviously.  I’m now working at the Hochschule Rhein-Sieg and the Volkshochschule in Bonn which I love.  There’s something special about students who do a full day at work and then give up an evening to learn English (or anything else for that matter).  I did my drama training (the part-time Actors’ Programme at Rose Bruford College) and my MA in the same way.  Exhausting sometimes but worth it to stay in the black so I think I can safely say respect is due.

I also work for Spotlight Magazine as a Language Author. I wanted to write stories / articles but I’m writing grammar exercises.  Which is fine but it prompted me to finally track down a journalism course I can do by distance learning.  The National Council of Training for Journalists (NCTJ) was a great find and I am currently working towards the Certificate in Foundation Journalism.  I’ll have to do the Diploma to be properly qualified but the certificate might at least show willing.

I moved out of Weststadt in July 2015 and now live in Bad Godesberg.  My new flatmate is much nicer than the last one though I seem to have become the cleaner.  I take a certain pride in running a house but I’m not really up for domestic service.  Still, it’s a nice flat and well connected by rail and U-bahn and of course the bike still works, even over longer distances.  😉

What else?  Quite a lot of opera: Maria de Buenos Aires and Cosí fan Tutte at the Bonn Oper, then the Handel Festival in Karlsruhe in February.  Very, very good and very very cold.  We’re planning to go back next year with a bigger group and a better hotel.  Fingers crossed.  Don Giovanni was in Cologne earlier this month.  The first time I’d seen that opera (I would recommend!)  Next up is the musical Anatevka or, as you know it in English, Fiddler on the Roof.

German: I’m still flailing around there and it bothers me so much that I decided to temporarily leave the Bonn English Singers to go and do something about it.  As all the German courses (at my level) at the VHS seem to coincide with my English classes I have to go to Cologne for them this term.  However when the VHS asked for my dates for next term I explained the problem and they gave me the list of German classes.  I told them which one I was likely to do and so it looks like they’ll schedule me around those times and the problem is sorted.  This is good news.  Just getting to Cologne is expensive.  Still, I have to get the German sorted.  Quite apart from the fact that one should speak the language of the country in which one lives, it opens up a few opportunities work-wise.  Hopefully.

Anyway, I have another blog post planned.  This is just to “clear the way” so I don’t fall by the wayside.

I hope you are all well.  More anon.

 

J

 

 

 

 

About afewwordsinpencil

An English writer of novels and theatrical pieces. My first novel, "And I Shall Be Healed" (Quickbeam Press) follows the experiences of a young army chaplain on the Western Front 1916-7. This and some theatre writings are available on the usual websites.
This entry was posted in Living in Germany, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

