They’re alive!

It has been, what, eight days since I planted these seeds?  Look at them now!  The peas came first.  There was no sign of the tomatoes so I turned them around in the bag so they were at the closed (presumably warmer) end and voila!  I am very pleased but a little anxious over whether I should pot them on before putting them outside.  I have to go to London on Friday so I will wait until I’m back.  Hopefully they will survive without any water for two days.

On Saturday I had planned to write some monologues.  A friend had sent me a line he’d heard so that was going to be a funny one.  However Saturday ended up being one of my more “down” days so I was lucky to get anything done at all.  As it was I wrote a rather sad monologue.  A relationship one.  I don’t write happy relationship monologues, it’s all about writing what you know.  Sob.  Anyway it’s another one for the pile and I have a few more ideas for funny stuff so hopefully the new book will be out this year.  I have unpublished “Untold Lives” which was the original collection – for men and women.  I went through the book on Saturday and identified the monologues I wasn’t happy with, those I wanted to work on a bit more and those I thought were really good.  The plan is to published two books – one for men and one for women – with only the best quality monologues in them.  Last time I was so keen to get the book out that I filled up pages with monologues that just weren’t up to snuff.  This time I shall be much, much stricter with myself.  The new book(s) will be published via ePubli.  I think.  So far it’s taking quite a while for my novel to reappear on Amazon.co.uk and Amazon.de (Amazon’s fault rather than ePubli) so let’s just see.

By the way, if you’re looking for a copy of my novel, “And I Shall Be Healed”, you can buy it here: http://www.epubli.de/shop/buch/And-I-Shall-Be-Healed-Julia-Lee-Dean-9783737591553/50384  This link takes you to the digital version but hardcopy is also available on the site.

I am still working on “Lost and Won”  (or “Lost & Won”, I can’t decide); it’s a very, very sad book.  Best not to drink gin at the same time.  The theme of loneliness continues but hopefully there’ll be some humour in there too.  I just haven’t found that yet.   So a few funny monologues as a side line are essential.  Like biscuits with tea.  😉

Last week I asked my students whether there was any grammar they wanted to work on ahead of the presentations they have to give.  The only entry on the list was “idioms”.  You know, those things you tell yourself you shouldn’t use in an English class and then can’t think of when the students ask you for them.  I do think that a monologue written entirely in idioms would be funny.  Perhaps funnier than one written in business jargon, which is a bit too much like real life.  Does anyone really know what “best practice” means?  When I worked in regulation I had to fill in a self-appraisal form that included the line “How have you contributed to being a best practice regulator?”  (something like that, anyway).  Just how does one answer that question politely?  And they say there are no such things as stupid questions…

Anyway, Saturday was miserable but Sunday was fun.  Walking and cycling.  Nice and warm too though more humid than any of us were really dressed for.  It was just nice to be out in the fresh and moving air.

2016-04-03 13.20.10

We were out beyond Oberkassel and it wasn’t an overly long walk but all in all we covered 20km by bike and probably 10km on foot.

This is probably my favourite image of the day:

2016-04-03 14.02.08

Anyway, I have a lesson at the Hochschule this afternoon and given how many biscuits I’ve eaten this morning, I need to take the bike into Bonn.  From Hochschule to Volkshochschule so I’ll need it later anyway.

So, I fly to London on Friday night – please God I survive the trip – will be back on Sunday and then normal life resume.

Until then, anon!

 

About afewwordsinpencil

An English writer of novels and theatrical pieces. My first novel, "And I Shall Be Healed" (Quickbeam Press) follows the experiences of a young army chaplain on the Western Front 1916-7. This and some theatre writings are available on the usual websites.
This entry was posted in Julia Lee Dean, Living in Germany, The roof garden, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

