Creativity: needle & pen

So, yesterday was my mum’s birthday.  Finally I was able to give her the present I’d meant to give her for her 60th birthday.  It took me a little longer than planned so she had it for her 65th instead.  It went down well:

2016-08-07-11-32-59

Feeling inspired; though not in a writing way (on reflection, having a 1930s literary novel, a more light-hearted Baroque-period series and a Mills & Boon-esque book on the go all at the same time is a little de trop).  In my defence, I did read an entire book on Handel in a little over a week and am currently working myself through “The Coming of the Third Reich” by Richard J. Evans but the writing itself is on holiday.  Therefore, I decided to launch into my next embroidery project.

This is to make a pair of cushion-covered, embroidered in the Jacobean style.  I have not yet got a sofa for these cushions but the fillers have lain in their packaging in the corner of my room since the summer so, no time like the present…

I had found some embroidery patterns online and, finally having enough ink and printing paper in the house at the same time.   I printed them out.

 

Finally!  A chance to use my light box!  Unfortunately the bulb (replaced when the one it arrived with didn’t work) functioned for about 4 minutes.  So I had to use my head-torch in the box to achieve the second picture.

This time there’s no pattern to follow so I had to decide on the colours myself.  Not sure I stayed true to the Jacobean period but I tried to be reasonably close:

Obviously, the colours available in colouring pencils (or at least the ones I’d bought from Rewe an hour or two before) are slightly different to the colours available in embroidery wool  / silk  (I’m going to call it wool as I’m using Crewel wool for this) so I’ve made notes about the colours I intend.  Particularly useful where I’ve started in one colour and then changed my mind!

The next thing is to decide on the stitches (I forgot about those when I took these photos) but that’s something to look forward to!

I think that’s enough for now.  I’ve got a 12 hour teaching day tomorrow.  :-/

 

Anon!

 

 

 

 

About afewwordsinpencil

An English writer of novels and theatrical pieces. My first novel, "And I Shall Be Healed" (Quickbeam Press) follows the experiences of a young army chaplain on the Western Front 1916-7. This and some theatre writings are available on the usual websites.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

